Writers Guild Of America Celebrates Screenwriting – Deadline

Update for the latest… The Writers Guild 75th Anniversary Awards are being presented tonight at two ceremonies on both coasts, and Deadline is posting the winners as they are announced. See the list below.

Sarah Polley followed up her USC Scripter Award win on Saturday by winning the Adapted Screenplay award for women who talk.

Winners on the TV side so far include Breakup for the new series, Inside Amy Schumer (Comedy/Variety Series), Jerrod CarmichaelRothaniel for the Comedy/Variety special, Rectify for Animation and Three busy Debras for the abbreviated form.

Competing for the original screenplay are the scripts for Everything everywhere all at once, The Fabelmans, The menu, No And Warehouse. Up for Adapted Screenplay are Black Panther: Wakanda Forever, Glass Onion: A Mystery at Daggers Drawn, She says, High Pistol: Maverick And Women who speak. See all the nominated and nominated writers for documentaries here and all the Oscar nominated screenplays here.

RELATED: 2023 Awards Season Schedule – Dates for Oscars, Guilds and More

Note that the scripts for The Banshees from Inisherin And triangle of sadness – who are both up for Original Screenplay and Best Picture at the Oscars this month – are ineligible for consideration due to WGA rules, as are the Academy’s Adapted nominees. In the west, nothing is new And Life. Such exclusions occur every year because WGA-eligible photos must have been written under the guild’s minimum basic agreement or under a good faith collective bargaining agreement from various international organizations affiliated with the WGA.

Check out the TV, New Media, Radio and other WGA nominees here.

WGA West will present honorary awards to Charlie Kaufman (Laurel Award for Screenwriting Achievement), screenwriter Rebecca Lenkiewicz (Paul Selvin Award) and Yvette Lee Bowser (Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award). The WGA East will celebrate Spike Lee (Ian McLellan Hunter Career Achievement Award).

This year’s WGA awards come as the union and industry brace for a possible writers’ strike against the Alliance of Motion Pictures and Television Producers. The parties will begin negotiations on March 20 and their current three-year agreement expires on May 1.

Janelle James and Michelle Buteau host the respective Los Angeles and New York events, which honor outstanding writing in the categories of film, television, new media, broadcast and digital news, radio/audio, and promotion.

Here are the winners so far at the 2023 Writers Guild Awards:

Inside Amy Schumer
Writers Georgie Aldaco, Rosebud Baker, Jeremy Beiler, Cazzie David, Tova Diker, Derek Gaines, Jon Glaser, Jaye McBride, Tim Meadows, Christine Nangle, Daniel Powell, Tami Sagher, Amy Schumer, Joe Strazzullo, Sydnee Washington, Ron Weiner; Paramount+

honor society
Written by David A. Goodman; Paramount +

Written by Chris Black, Andrew Colville, Kari Drake, Dan Erickson, Mark Friedman, Helen Leigh, Anna Moench, Amanda Overton; AppleTV+

Three busy Debras
Written by Sandy Honig, Mitra Jouhari, Sarah Sherman, Alyssa Stonoha, Diana Tay, Evan Waite; adult swimming

“Lies, Politics and Democracy” (Frontline)
Written by Michael Kirk and Mike Wiser; PBS

“Rectify” (Cancelled)
Written by Elijah Aron and Patrick Metcalf; First video

Jerrod CarmichaelRothaniel
Written by Jerrod Carmichael; HBO/HBO Max

“Like a Toothless Lion” (Crime Show)
Written by Emma Courtland and Cat Schuknecht; Media Gimlet

Women Talking, Screenplay by Sarah Polley, based on the book by Miriam Toews; Orion Pictures/MGM

Leave a Comment