2023 Producers Guild Awards winners list – The Hollywood Reporter

The 2023 PGA Awards are currently underway as the Producers Guild of America honors its picks for Best of the Year in Film and Television.

Daveed Diggs kicked off the show with opening comments. Pinocchio by Guillermo del Toro was the first winner of the evening, presented by hacks‘ Hannah Einbinder, as he noted, was “a fantastic year for animation, every artist in this category is trying to push it”, emphasizing once again that animation is an art form for an audience beyond children.

BJ Novak presented the Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television to Mindy Kaling, recalling their early days together at Office and their careers since. “She knows a lot about producing now, but she was great at it even before, because she’s a great producer for the same reason a lot of people, including her, are good parents right away. She cares so much of everything that she either knows what to do or finds out quickly,” he said, adding, “She cares so much about everything and I care about her so much.

In her acceptance, Kaling dedicated the award to her late mother and thanked Office producers Greg Daniels and Howard Klein for giving him his departure. She also shouted at Lear for “opening the way for all kinds of people to focus on television – nuanced, three-dimensional people who are sometimes goofy or selfish but always hilarious”. Kaling also thanked his studio executive partners, “powerful people who all believed in me, believed in the good business of inclusive content, and encouraged me to fill my productions with tons of new talent, especially women of color”.

Eugenio Derbez presented Best Television Episode, Drama at The White Lotusto producer David Bernad, who jokingly apologized to people in the crowd who voted for the show and hoped to see Mike White or Jennifer Coolidge give a speech, and Dave Burd presented outstanding live entertainment, variety , sketches, stand-ups and TV shows at Last week tonight with John Oliver.

Ron Howard took the stage to present the Milestone Award to Warner Bros. Michael De Luca and Pamela Abdy, who in their speech discussed their long career and partnership. “Pam and I would be nowhere without the artists we work with, thank you so much to them and all the filmmakers who trust us to champion them and be there to bring their work to the world,” De Luca said, with a thank you. to the boss of Warner Bros. Discovery, David Zazlov, teasing that they would do the job for free but he shouldn’t have any ideas.

Mo Amer featured at Lizzo watch out for big grrrlswhich won the prize for best producer of games and television competitions, and Diego Luna presented an outstanding documentary film to Navalny. Anjelah Johnson-Reyes introduced Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television to Stanley Tucci: In Search of Italyand Patricia Arquette led an In Memoriam tribute segment.

Avatar: The Way of the Water, The Banshees of Inisherin, Black Panther: Wakanda Forever, Elvis, Everything everywhere all at once, The Fabelmans, Glass onion: a mystery at loggerheads, Warehouse, Top Gun: Maverick And The whale are up for the evening’s top honor, the Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Motion Picture Producer.

In the TV categories, Andor, You better call Saul, ozark, Breakup And The White Lotus are nominated for drama while Abbott Elementary School, barry, the bear, hacks And Only murders in the building are up for comedy. Dahmer – Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story, The stall, Invent Anna, Obi Wan Kenobi And Pam and Tommy complete the limited series or anthology category.

In addition to competitive awards, Tom Cruise is honored with the David O. Selznick Achievement Award and Until with the Stanley Kramer Prize.

The non-televised show, now in its 34th year, is set at the Beverly Hilton.

Read on for a full list of this year’s nominees, which will be updated as the winners are announced live. Update for latest.

Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Best Motion Picture Producer

Avatar: The Way of the Water
The Banshees of Inisherin
Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
Everything everywhere all at once
The Fabelmans
Glass onion: a mystery at loggerheads
Top Gun: Maverick
The whale

Outstanding Producer Award for Animated Theatrical Films

Pinocchio by Guillermo del Toro (WINNER)
Marcel the shod shell
Minions: The Rise of Gru
Puss in Boots: The Last Wish
turn red

Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer in Episodic Television – Drama

You better call Saul
The White Lotus (WINNER)

Danny Thomas Award for Best Episodic Television Producer – Comedy

Abbott Elementary School
the bear
Only murders in the building

David L. Wolper Award for Best Producer of Limited or Anthology Television Series

Dahmer – Monster: The Jeffrey Dahmer Story
The stall
Invent Anna
Obi Wan Kenobi
Pam and Tommy

Outstanding Producer Award for Television or Streamed Movies

fire island
Hocus Pocus 2
Bizarre: the story of Al Yankovic (WINNER)

Outstanding Non-Fiction Television Producer Award

30 for 30
60 minutes
George Carlin’s American Dream
Lucy and Desi
Stanley Tucci: In Search of Italy (WINNER)

Outstanding Live Entertainment, Variety, Sketch, Stand-Up and Talk Show Producer Award

The Daily Show with Trevor Noah
Jimmy Kimmel Live!
Last week tonight with John Oliver
The Late Show with Stephen Colbert
Saturday Night Live

Outstanding Game and Competition Television Producer Award

Fantastic race
Lizzo watch out for big grrrls
All of RuPaul’s Drag Race Stars
best boss
The voice

Outstanding Documentary Film Producer Award

anything that breathes
fire of love
Navalny (WINNER)
Nothing compares
The territory

More soon.

Leave a Comment